Dubai, UAE – Teenager Romaldo Rabrooy beat the ‘big boys’ in the first round of the 2016 SWS Sprint Series held at the Dubai Kartdrome, while Kamal Agha claimed top honors in the SWS Juniors category earlier in the evening.

Last season, Rabrooy steadily emerged as one of the front runners in the highly competitive SWS Seniors category, and on Monday night all came good for the Dubai-based Sri Lankan as he qualified third and finished in the same place in Race 1.

He then proceeded to win the second heat, after evading the chasing pack and notably fending off perennial front-runner Rami Azzam, to claim his maiden win in the series.

Azzam was runner-up in both races which was enough to take second place overall ahead of third placed Hussain Umid Ali thanks to fourth and third in Race 1 and Race 2 respectively.

Fourth overall was Anjum Shaikh, who also did enough to claim the Master Cup for his efforts, Ziad Merhi was second best Master and Assaad Kassis third.

Maz Nawaz was fifth overall, ahead of Allen Khoury, Jhon Quiceno and Salem Al Adidi rounding out the top eight, in the field of 29 drivers.

Earlier in the evening Kamal Aghar won both the SWS Junior races to take overall victory in the season opener, despite being chased hard in both races.

Jakub Fitzsimmons claimed pole position and finished third in Race 1 and second in Race 2, which was good for second place overall.

Maxine Dubois took the final podium spot with fourth and third in the two races with Danny Shields was fourth ahead of Alex Macmillan and Seif Al Naggar in fifth and sixth respectively.

Round 2 of the 2016 Kartdrome SWS Sprint Series takes place on 1 February 2016.


  1. The SWS Seniors podium (L to R) Second placed Rami Azzam, winner Romaldo Labrooy and third placed Hussein Umid Ali

The SWS Juniors podium (L to R) Second placed Jakub Fitzsimmons, winner Kamal Agha and third placed Maxime Dubois